Previous System Folder

OK, a month ago my OS X frozen and after rebooting it would'nt start up.

It showed a folder in the center of the screen switching from an icon to another. So, I reinstalled Jaguar and everything was perfect, I didn't loose any data, all the apps were there, etc, etc.

But, a folder was created during the instalation under Macintosh HD: Previous System. My question is: can I delete it? because its getting 2 GB of my drive.

c'mon OS X gurus ;)

thanks

#38480

anyone had to reinstall Mac OS after a panic?

#38680

Now I don't (yet) have a mac but I remeber reading about this somewhere...

When you reinstall the OS without formatting the HD, you are kinda installing it over the top of the original. Thats why all your apps are intact. I'm not sure if the previous system folder is a backup or essential but I'll try and find the article for you. I think that reinstalling and doing the 'write zeroes' option in the format HD box gives you the cleanest possible reinstall but you lose your data. I did that to my bro's iMac (original) once to fix a totally frozen OS 9. Anyway, I'll get back here when I find the column.

#38693

don't worry, I found and article in the Apple Knowledge Base and I deleted the folder, anything happened, so I suppose it's pretty safe. I had to change the folder permissions to be able to delete it but that's all

anyway, if you read something interesting about it please post it

#38727