MAC OSX Install - NO HD ACTIVE

Hello, I am new to macs and have just upgraded an iMac G3 333mhz, 128mb ram, new 40GB hard drive from 6GB. I can install OS9 and upgrade to 9.2.2 and everything works ok. I then try to install OSX which is what is on the 6B cd but when it gets to the choosing Hard disk page the hard disk partitions and the cd are greyed out. Does anyone have any ideas at all? Please be gentle, i am an iMAc virgin.

Old Hard disk is: Maxtor 6GB

New Hard disk is: Western Digital 40GB

Both are set as Master.

Many thanks

We'll obviously you have a problem with your IDE configuration, you CANNOT have two harddrives on the same channel set to master, one has to be primary the other has to be a slave otherwise only one with be recognized

Set the WD 40gb as master and the 6gb as slave, since you want to install OSX on the WD correct?

Then boot with the cd in the drive holding the C key

We'll obviously you have a problem with your IDE configuration, you CANNOT have two harddrives on the same channel set to master, one has to be primary the other has to be a slave otherwise only one with be recognized

Set the WD 40gb as master and the 6gb as slave, since you want to install OSX on the WD correct?

Then boot with the cd in the drive holding the C key