[request] Core Image Replacement For Windows

Core Image is the feature of Mac OS X Tiger, you know. Don't you? See this, if you don't.

Well, I've been looking for such graphic system for Windows for a long time.

I think it should be based on DirectX. I can use it, but all I need is to work with graphics usually and to have most of the Image Units that Core Image offers. I hoped GDI+ is such a lib, but it only offers more easy drawing with C++ classes in base (not flat API functions, though classes are built on ones). And also it doesn't have a hardware acceleraion, it's tooo slow for some works.

So maybe someone knows GPU-accelerated high-level graphic libs (I prefer programming in Delphi)?

Or, if there's no such lib, maybe someone would like to help me write it?

The only other library I know is SDL.

SDL home

It uses OpenGL for 3D and provide low-level access to video hardware.

I am not sure about the speed though.

I have some experience in managed directX and it is easier to use than COM-based version.

Building your own direct access graphics library would be cool but I guess it would require a lot of work. I am interested but I don't use Delphi.

Maybe you can ask AV if he is interested.

If you decide to actually start the project , I wish all best of the luck and I hope you can teach me all the tricks you learn on the way.

• 3 weeks later...
Originally posted by batuta@Jul 18 2004, 02:42 AM

Why dont you try linux.

The most powerfull tools for programing are unix base and you cant get that on windows.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

*Rolls my eyes*

Do you understand how pointless a comment that was? If RIMMER were looking for the programming tools in any form he could get them, he would use OS X!

It's just that people who preach Linux really annoy me, and you ignoring his question and giving some rather patronizing advice is really rude.