Aqua-Soft Forums: RK Launcher Web Page - Aqua-Soft Forums

Jump to content

  • 4 Pages +
  • « First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

RK Launcher Web Page

#61 User is offline   zachandsuch Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 30-January 05

Posted 26 May 2005 - 12:08 AM

I didn't I paid for it
0

#62 User is offline   belgrano Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 26 May 2005 - 05:59 AM

zachandsuch, don't get me wrong, but don't you think you should have let Raduking registered this domain? After all the man does all this beautiful jub - creating that great dock - pro bono, it's not a commercial war when everybody is hurrring to register a domain to get a piece of profit from it...
0

#63 User is offline   zachandsuch Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 30-January 05

Posted 26 May 2005 - 01:26 PM

WHEN did I say I hope to make a profit out of it. I'm not gonna resell it to him for $200!

I just built the site for him and used to domain to show him ...
0

#64 User is offline   belgrano Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 26 May 2005 - 02:40 PM

You didn't, nor do I implied you did.

I just said that I think you should have asked Raduking first to register the domain, and only if he declined the offer to do it yourself. My opinion is that if he makes the launcker, he should have the domain also.

You don't have to get offended as it was not my intention to offend you. I think that you are doing a nice job to build a site for RKLauncher and I respect that.
0

#65 User is offline   fmpuk Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: 03-April 05

Posted 26 May 2005 - 04:36 PM

belgrano said:

I just said that I think you should have asked Raduking first to register the domain, and only if he declined the offer to do it yourself. My opinion is that if he makes the launcker, he should have the domain also..

I agree, RK has a right to that domain name...
0

#66 User is offline   nightcrawler1089 Icon

  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 7,909
  • Joined: 26-February 04

Posted 26 May 2005 - 10:53 PM

Quote

I agree, RK has a right to that domain name...

He doesn't have a right to anything. It's just common courtesy. :slant:

-NC
0

#67 User is offline   blulegend Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: 01-February 05

Posted 26 May 2005 - 11:39 PM

I decided to stay out of it. Sorry.
0

#68 User is offline   zachandsuch Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 30-January 05

Posted 27 May 2005 - 12:31 AM

This isn't cybersquatting for two reasons:

1 - Cybersquatters offer the domains for excessive sums of money. I never once threatened the creator that he had to pay huge fees for it.
2 - He doesn't own the registered trademark to RKLauncher.

"In order to stop a cybersquatter, the trademark owner must prove all of the following:

* the domain name registrant had a bad-faith intent to profit from the trademark
* the trademark was distinctive at the time the domain name was first registered
* the domain name is identical or confusingly similar to the trademark, and
* the trademark qualifies for protection under federal trademark laws -- that is, the trademark is distinctive and its owner was the first to use the trademark in commerce.
"

http://www.nolo.com/article.cfm/objectID/6...11/228/195/ART/

http://en.wikipedia..../Cybersquatting

He doesn't have the "right" to the name.

I'm NOT holding it hostage. There is no final site anyways.
0

#69 User is offline   blulegend Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: 01-February 05

Posted 27 May 2005 - 12:46 AM

I decided to stay out of it. Sorry.
0

#70 User is offline   zachandsuch Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 30-January 05

Posted 27 May 2005 - 01:45 AM

My tone is anger - not intent - because here I am trying to help and all i get is $hit. I mean, come on, if I was doing this maliciously I wouldnt have developed the site and spent time on it.

If he wants the domain - he can HAVE IT!
0

#71 User is offline   blulegend Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: 01-February 05

Posted 27 May 2005 - 02:57 AM

I decided to stay out of it. Sorry, zachandsuch and raduking. Keep up the good work.
0

#72 User is offline   fmpuk Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: 03-April 05

Posted 27 May 2005 - 07:19 AM

All I feel zachandsuch is that you should be careful because someone may just go to rklauncher.com to download the dock, and then think your site is the "official". And you're latest post on your site does make it seem like it is the official site. I am not trying to get to you, so don't start screaming back posting links to every page on the net that states your rights, I am just expressing my view.
0

#73 User is offline   Ghostwalker Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 1,990
  • Joined: 05-March 03

Posted 27 May 2005 - 11:28 AM

Why wont everyone just wait to see what zachandsuch is doing before you jump to conclusions. I dont beleieve he has done this for malicious intent and even if he was I would wait until he did it before complaining.
0

#74 User is offline   raduking Icon

  • Group: Developers
  • Posts: 670
  • Joined: 28-November 03

Posted 30 May 2005 - 10:01 AM

guys guys... there's no need to be aggressive here :)
i think zachandsuch is doing a nice job with the site... though the design haven't been updated for a while...
as for the domain name if he is willing to let it free to the use of the community in my oppinion there's no problem with that
I would have registered the domain myself but I had no ideea U can register a domain for free...
zachandsuch please tell me how can I do that :)
0

#75 User is offline   hallf Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 750
  • Joined: 09-November 02

Posted 30 May 2005 - 11:13 AM

You can't register a domain name for free....he paid for it.
0

#76 User is offline   Asdrubale88 Icon

  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: 06-April 05

Posted 30 May 2005 - 12:03 PM

I own a blog Inutilog, and i registered the name for free, with TopHost.
I managed to find a "free invite" for a free-year subscription.

TopHost

Unfortunately for you, all the site is in Italian, my mother language, and i think that the promotion isn't valid, yet :P
0

  • 4 Pages +
  • « First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic