Explorer: Remove background on folders in thumbnail view

I'm not 100% sure on this one... but I think folder icons are in Shell32.dll... so if you can replace the iconset for folders in Shell32.dll.. one blank icon in position for thumbnail folder resides, you should be able to remove it.

Thanks for your answer iGo.

I looked into c:windowssystem32shell.dll with ResHack.

Under 'Icon' I found 27 and 28 contain the same image as displayed in the background window:

Screenshot

So, I'm completely new to ResHack, but my instincts tell me to create a transparent image in Photoshop, save it as *.ico file and try to replace these two.

The thing is, When I rightclick them (27 & 28) and select replace icon the Dialogwindow in the front pops up, and that looks like a completely different icon to me..?

I was thinking I'd just try and replace it with the *.ico file I was talking about earlier, but I wanted to check in with you guys and see if you had any 'heads-up' on things I could screw up.

Further guestions:

* What resolution should the ico be in? 48x48?

* I realize backing up the shell32.dll file is a clever thing to do, but do I have to disable file protection or something like that?

* UPDATE 1 *

I read this over at Winmatrix and decided to give it a go. So I opened shell32.dll in IcoFX and extracted IconGroup 4 which contained the different icons that got me confused earlier in the post. I erased the pixels from the 96x96 icons (which were the ones that looked like the folder I want to remove) and saved the ico, imported it back into shell32.dll with ResHack and added the new dll file to my system with Replacer. So, I rebooted, rebuilt my Icon Cache and the result:

Didn't do shit :(

Just to check I opened the shell32.dll with IcoFX and extracted Group 4 to check if Replacer had done it's job, and sure enough, the 96x96 folders were blank.

Any ideas?

* Update 2 *